A Dozen, Cousin

Today began in an awful fashion.  I planned on getting an oil change, new tires, and a haircut, now how does that go wrong?

I arrive at Wal-Mart (my first mistake) at Noon.  I tell the attendant exactly what I want, two new tires and a basic oil change.  He says it should take about 50 minutes, perfect!  I walk about half a mile to SportsClips where I am greeted with an hour and half wait.  No thanks.  I walk back to Wal-Mart.  To make a long story short, it takes them two hours, and I still don’t have new tires.  Ugh!  I go back home, change clothes, grab a sandwich, and, putting my 11 session streak on the line, head to Green Valley Ranch.

After a short wait, I buy $300 chips from the cage and take a seat in a juicy 1/2NL game.  The blonde lady sitting three seats to my left is a complete spew-tard…I have never seen an older white lady play so sporadically.   The talk of the table was her miraculously turning $50 into her now healthy stack of $400.  I watched mostly and observed her play.  It became quite apparent that she wasn’t folding any pair ever.  Several times she would 3-bet pf with very marginal holdings, (66, 44, AT, KJ etc…) I have no clue how she would play these hands on later streets, because the opportunity never arose.  She would always take it down preflop or nail the flop.  Finally, I pick up a hand and decided to put her to the test.  I make it $12 in EP with A Q.  The action gets to her and she 3-bets to $60.  A short-stacker moves in the remainder of his $45 stack and action is folded to me.  I insta-push.  I hate being all-in preflop because I feel like I have such a huge edge postflop against most of these players, but with a short-stacked player being all-in, I would rather isolate.  After all, she has had nothing for most of the day, and I was fairly sure she would fold…but wait—AH, Pocket Aces.  She calls, and turns over AA.  I fire my hand into the muck after the board is dealt and rebuy.

Shortly after, our table breaks and I’m quite sad.  I am fairly sure this lady is going to cash out her $1,000.  To my surprise, she takes two racks of red and goes to another table.  I make sure to get on her table, and preferably a few seats to her left.  I get my wish, I am in seat 10, she is seated in the 5 position.  Perfect, I have position half the time.  She stacks me again with 22 v TT when she spikes a deuce on the river.  I could have bet her off at anytime, maybe, but I was quite certain she would 3-barrel bluff at it, and she did.  UGH!

Rebuy!  I go in for a third time, but for only $200.  This puts me into the game for $800.  Normally, I would leave after losing 2 buy-ins, but this game is way too good.  I increase my last buy-in by 50% in a hurry, and then I get four consecutive hands with less than optimal results.  I pick up Pocket Sixes in the SB.  After four limpers, I make it $20 to go and everyone folds.  The very next hand OTB I get QQ.  Two players limp, I make it $20 again.  The big blind calls, and another player calls.  The flop comes out A 2 T.  BB checks, and the MP limper can barely restrain himself to check.  I check as well, knowing that the limper nailed the flop.  I get confirmation when he and the big blind get all-in on the turn and he shows A2 for Two Pair.  One hand later, I am in the CO and look down at Pocket Queens, again!  Again, I raise to $20.  The table is quite irritated and I get six callers.  I am ready to play a big pot with this one as the flop comes 5 6 9.  The small blinds moves all-in for $81 and the player UTG makes the call.  Normally, this is insta-shove, but UTG hasn’t played a hand in five hours.  I think for a long time, and fold.  I’m still not sure if this was a +EV fold or not.  It turns out, I was miles ahead, as the SB had 46o and UTG shows TT.  I would’ve won the hand but I was very sure I was beat, sigh, nothing right this session.  All the wrong reads, all the wrong results.  The next hand I get 77.  A new player makes it $20 to go, one caller, I make it $100, enough to put the pfr all-in.  He makes the call with AK and I lose the race.  This leaves me with $100, about 7 stacks short of being even for the day.  I decide that that’s enough.  I take my stack to the cage and exchange it for a crisp $100 bill.   What a bad session!  But the day isn’t over, yet.

I decide to take the $100 to the blackjack table.  A $700 loss would be about the same as an $800 loss, who knows, maybe I’ll run hot.  It didn’t take long to double my hundred.  Four hands after hitting the $200 mark, I make it to $300.  I hit a wall at the $400 mark, and my stack fluctuates between $300 and $400 for a while.  Finally, I decide that if I get down to $300 then I’ll call it a $500 loss and go home.  Several times I was at $325 with a Quarter in the bet circle.  “Shuffle.”

Along comes a new shoe,  and for the first four rounds there wasn’t a single face card dealt; count is plus twenty.  I go on a sick rush and before I know it I have a stack of green in front of me.  I’m betting $50-$75 a hand, doubling, splitting, and hitting blackjacks.  I finally stop to count and i have $760.  “Forty more and I’m even, hell, I may squeak out a profit on the day.”  I get up to $840 when the deck begins to even out.  I decide that I’ll play with the $40, but I’m not touching the $800.  “Shuffle.”  What a great shoe!  All the while I was taunting the house, everytime there was a dealer change I would say, “Bring in the bullpen, another blown save, I’m running too hot Franklin.”  BTW, Franklin is the floorperson’s name, LOL.  After each blackjack I say, “Here’s a nickel dealer, keep it up and I’ll pay both our mortgages.”  The other players were laughing and having a grand ol’ time.

After the shoe, I have $810.  I bet the $10, push, bet it again and lose.  Color please.  I color up to $800, but wait, I have five singles in my coat pocket.  Chalk it up as a $5 win on the day, and a dozen straight winners at GVR.  But sadly, my poker streak is now at -1.  Tomorrow is another day!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment